Fulano’s Factoids

The United Nations Security Council is composed of five permanent members — China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States — and ten non-permament members. The non-permanent members have two-year terms.

Each Security Council member has one vote. Decisions on procedural matters are made by an affirmative vote of at least nine of the 15 members. Decisions on substantive matters require nine votes, including the concurring votes of all five permanent members. Therefore, any of the five permanent members can veto any substantive matter.

However, the financial burden borne by the permanent members of the UN Security Council is grossly disproportionate among the five permanent members.